Breaking Point, By Pamela Clare


I-Team Novel #5

Breaking Point by Pamela Clare

Review Below.

Release Date May 3rd, 2011.

From the Publisher:

Denver journalist Natalie Benoit and Deputy U.S. Marshal Zach McBride find themselves captives of a bloodthirsty Mexican drug cartel. Working together, they escape through the desert toward the border, the attraction between them flaring hotter than the Sonoran sun. They fight to stay ahead of the danger that hunts them as forces more powerful than they can imagine conspire to destroy them both

***************************************************************************

I was lucky to be able to read an Advanced Reader Copy.

4.5 out of 5 Stars

It’s no secret to those who know me, that I love Pamela Clare and her I-Team Novels. She is an extremely talented author, who writes about real life issues through her journalistic series. This latest installment Breaking Point will have fans on the edge of their seats.

Zach Mcbride is one scrumptious male. I mean, just look at the cover! He is smokin’ hot :grins: {Jed Hill as Zach McBride = WIN!!!}

Zach is an honorably discharged former Navy SEAL, with a tortured story. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be on the front lines of War. I can only thank those who defend our country from harm, and hope I am never put into a position that Natalie, our heroine, was thrust into.

Natalie Benoit, a transplanted New Orleans Reporter now working for the I-team {3 years} has a secret grief. She has never told any of her colleagues or friends of her time during Hurricane Katrina, and the events that lead to three significant deaths in her life.
Deciding it was time for a vacation, she and Joaquin {The I-team Photographer} travel to Mexico to the SPJ Tour. While on a bus of other journalists, they are hijacked, and everyone aboard except for her are shot, while she is kidnapped. Thus her horrifying journey begins.

Zach is captured after being betrayed by a fellow operative and offered up on a silver platter. Tortured by the Drug Cartel, he is one day away from death when they bring Natalie into the fray. At once, he has a new reason to survive, and thus, the escape begins…

Thrown together, escaping together, and on the run for their lives; they battle an intense attraction and mutual emotional turmoil.

One thing I admire about Ms. Clare is her writing skills. You are right there with Zach and Natalie. You feel like you are on the run with them. You feel what they feel, you see what they see. They are real people, and not just fictional characters. THAT is impressive.

I won’t go into the climax and plotting much more.
The latter half of the book was just plain old awesome. I laughed, I cried, I cheered, I gaped in shock at a particular scene involving a (view spoiler)

I enjoyed the ending and epilogue.

Why didn’t I give this book 5 stars you ask? Well, to be honest, and Ms. Clare, I hope you don’t take this too personally, but I thought Zach and Natalie had too much sex while on the run. Especially at one point in the story where they were almost found and then immediately they are going at it with animal intensity. While I understand the thought behind the action, or actually the lack of thought on Zach and Natalie’s parts :grins: I just felt like if it were ME (and thank god it wasn’t!) the last thing I would do at that moment was have sex!

Also, Natalie never dealt with what happened after she used a brick, and at another point in the story, a Gun. I felt this aspect of the story should have been addressed.

However, those were my only qualms. I-Team fans will love Zach and Natalie.

And to end on a positive note, the scenes at the end with Joaquins photographs and between Julian and Marc were some of the most touching I have ever read. Thank you for allowing us to be present for those moments

About Erika @ Badass Book Reviews

Mom to four by day, Book Review blogger by night. I read Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary Romance a little Historicals

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Advanced Reader Copies, Pamela Clare, Romantic Suspense. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aloha! I recently reveiwed this book as my first outing with the I-Team. I shy away from romantic suspense, especially with military heroes, as it comes to close to home. But Pamela sent me the ARC and I took the plunge. We have similar comments how Pamela puts the reader in the action., Most I-Team Fans who have read the book have commented on the one scene with two alphas (as documented by Joaquin’s pictures). But I was equally impressed with other action in that scene … and how Zack resolved his inner demon.

    BREAKING POINT converted me to Pamela Clare!

    • The scenes at the end were heart wrenching. Zach was an awesome hero. Pamela Clare is a new force in Romantic Suspense for sure. Her books have such a touch of realism.

Leave a Reply

